Beautiful Queen Elizabeth Park in Vancouver started out as a basalt quarry owned by the C.P.R. The quarry was officially closed in 1911 but the land was left like an ugly scar on the landscape for nearly two decades. In 1940 the site was given the name of Queen Elizabeth Park after the 1939 visit of King George VI and his consort, Elizabeth. But it wasn't until 1949 that anything was done to transform the site by the Parks Board. The quarry was then planted as an arboretum with the intention of displaying all the tree species native to Canada.
Other trees were planted too, including this Lebanese Cedar which was a gift to the park.
The main quarry was developed next and by 1969 Mr. Prentice Bloedel donated over a million dollars toward a new plaza, waterways, fountains and the domed Bloedel Floral Conservatory.
Today the Park is a favorite location for weddings and family excursions. It's a pleasure to stroll among the floral displays and gardens or to enjoy some spectacular scenic city views.
One winter or rainy days be sure and visit the Bloedel Conservatory which is filled with tropical plants and a hundred free flying exotic birds. http://www.vancouver.ca/parks/parks/bloedel/index.htm
Or stop for a meal at the Seasons in the Park Restaurant (open daily) www.vancouverdine.com/season-park
The Park is located off 33rd Avenue between Cambie and Main Street.